What Happens When You Get Caught for DUI in Tennessee?



Have you ever been to a late-night party and take a shot or two of that delicious tequila? Then you have to drive home intoxicated and have an officer pull you over? Well, that is what they call driving under the influence.

 

Maybe you're nervous and don't want to be convicted of these kinds of crimes in Tennessee. What you should do is hire a Nashville DUI Attorney to help you with your charges. Hiring a professional DUI lawyer will help your plea bargain for lesser offenses, especially if you are a first-time offender. 

 

Things that Will Happen When You Get Caught for DUI

 

There are several steps when you're booked for a DUI offense. Here are the steps an officer takes to get you the punishment for putting your life in danger. 

 

  • Arrest and booking. When a police officer catches you of red-handed, you will be taken to the nearest precinct for an inquest.

  • Suspension of driver's license. Because driving is a privilege, suspension of the driver's license follows. You will not be able to drive for some time, and this depends on the gravity of your penalty. In some states, a driver's license can also be immediately suspended when refusing to take a sobriety test.

  • Court appearance. You will be given a summons that compels you to show yourself in court to face your DUI charges.

  • Fines and fees. If you're convicted with drunk driving, the state of Tennessee enforces strict penalties. You will have to pay for putting your life and the life of others in danger.

  • Prison or probation. In most states, jail time has become a mandatory requirement, even for first-time offenders. It lasts about a day or more, depending on the gravity of your misdemeanor. 

  • Alcohol evaluation. You will undergo an alcohol evaluation with a trained counselor to determine if you have an alcohol abuse problem. An alcohol evaluation is done through a series of questions asked by the counselor regarding your alcohol use. 

 

What is the Tennessee DUI Law and its Penalties?

 

Tennessee follows strict compliance with existing guidelines for drunk driving. Once you're facing charges against DUI, the best thing to do is to hire a Nashville DUI Attorney to represent you.

 

Here are some of the instructions under the DUI law and the prevailing penalties enforced. 

 

  • In Nashville, when your blood alcohol content (BAC) is higher than 0.08%, you are incapable of driving a vehicle. You are already considered "under the influence" of the substance impairing your ability to operate a vehicle safely. Alcohol deprives clearness of mind and control of yourself.

  • During your 1st Offense, the jail time required is a minimum of 48 hours up to 11 months and 29 days. You will also be fined at least $350 to $1,500.

  • For a 2nd Offense, jail time is at 45 days to 11 months and 29 days. You will get a $600 to $3,500 fine when convicted of DUI.

  • For your 3rd Offense, the minimum jail time will be 120 days up to 11 months and 29 days, and you will be required to pay $1,100 to $10,000.

  • Your driver's license will also be suspended for one, two, and six years, respectively.

 

The best way to not be convicted of such misbehavior is by not drinking and driving in the first place. It will prevent the accidental loss of lives, including yours and your loved ones.